Rajya Sabha discusses Motion of thanks on President’s address

Rajya Sabha today reconvened to discuss further on the Motion of thanks on the President’s address to the joint sitting of both the Houses of the Parliament. Participating in the discussion BJP MP Dr. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe said people are experiencing democracy of aspirations under the current government. Underscoring the several rounds of talks between the government and the farmer unions, he said the government is still open for discussions with the farmers on the issue of farm laws to root out the differences. Highlighting a series of reforms under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Dr. Sahasrabuddhe said the centre has devolved powers to states and district authorities in order to ease accessibility of developmental funds. He said Centre is working with the vision of Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas and Sabka Vishwas and that has led the country to move on from discovery of India to self realisation of India.

The opposition leaders continued with their demand to withdraw the farm Laws even on the third day of the discussion on the motion on the Presidential address. Terming the passing of the bills in the House as unconstitutional, Congress MP Anand Sharma demanded immediate withdrawal of the farm laws. He said the bill was never sent to a standing committee for wider discussions. Mr. Sharma asked the government to remove the road barriers at protesting sites requesting the government not to treat the matter as a prestige issue. He also urged that the matters of constitutionality pending in the Supreme Court must be decided without much delay.

Another Congress MP Pratap Singh Bajwa raised questions as to why the farm bills were rushed in through the ordinance route. He alleged that the laws were brought in to benefit a handful of private companies. Mr. Bajwa demanded an inquiry into the violent episode at the Red Fort on the 26th of last month under the chairmanship of a sitting Supreme Court judge. Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge also echoed his party’s thoughts on the issue.

Taking part in the discussion NCP leader Praful Patel lauded the joint efforts of the centre and states in the fight against covid pandemic. He however asked the centre to withdraw the three farm laws. Mr. Patel attacked the centre for drawing parallel between the provisions of the contentious farm legislations and the draft bill circulated by NCP leader and erstwhile Agriculture Minister in the UPA regime Sharad Pawar.

Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut raised the issue of implication of notable leaders and journalists under sedition charges. Demanding roll back of the farm laws, he asked the centre to work out an amicable resolution to the current impasse.

Satish Chandra Mishra of Bahujan Samaj Party proposed that the centre should put the farm laws on hold for three years. Meanwhile, he said a resolution to the impasse can be worked out through broader discussion. Mr. Mishra condemned the violence at the Red Fort on the occasion of the 72nd Republic Day this year.

CPI member Binoy Viswam demanded that the three farm laws be repealed. Sardar Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa of the Shiromani Akali Dal asked for a scientific basis for calculation of MSP. He asked the government to roll back the farm laws. The discussion is underway in the Upper House.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.