Punjab. Polling Underway For By-Elections To Jalandhar West Assembly Constituency.

July 10, 2024 9:47 AM.

In Punjab, polling for the by-elections to the Jalandhar West Assembly Constituency began at 7 a.m. today. The polling will continue till 6 p.m.

A total of 15 candidates are in the fray, although the main contest is among the ruling Aam Aadmi Party candidate Mohinder Bhagat, BJP’s Sheetal Angural and Congress Party’s Surinder Kaur.

A total of 181 polling stations have been set up in the constituency for a total of 1 lakh 71 thousand 963 voters. Tight security arrangements have been made in the entire constituency and additional numbers of security forces have been deployed.

Sheetal Angural was elected MLA from here on Aam Aadmi Party ticket in the 2022 Vidhan Sabha elections, but before the Lok Sabha elections held recently, he had announced to join BJP, on which state assembly Speaker Kultar Singh Sandhwa cancelled his assembly membership.