Lovlina Borgohain, Neeraj Chopra, Ravi Dahiya among 11 recommended for Khel Ratna

India’s inspiring show at the Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics reflected in an unprecedented 11 recommendations for the Khel Ratna award, including that of champion javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, as the selection committee also named 35 athletes for the Arjuna honour on Wednesday.

Apart from 23-year-old Chopra, who became only the second Indian to win an individual Olympic gold, silver medal-winning wrestler Ravi Dahiya, woman boxer Lovlina Borgohain, who won a bronze, were recommended for the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award, country’s highest sporting honour.

Seasoned hockey goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and women’s cricket team Test and ODI captain Mithali Raj were selected along with iconic Sunil Chhetri, who is set to become country’s first footballer to receive the honour.

All five gold medallists from the Tokyo Paralympics — Avani Lekhara (shooting), Manish Narwal (shooting), Sumit Antil (athletics), Pramod Bhagat (badminton) and Krishna Nagar (badminton) — were also rewarded for their performance as they also made the cut in the list which will now be sent to the Sports Ministry for approval.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.