President approves 84 gallantry awards for defence personnel

President Ram Nath Kovind has approved 84 gallantry awards for defence personnel, including nine Shaurya Chakra.

The Kirti Chakra has been posthumously awarded to Abdul Rashid Kalas, Head Constable, Jammu and Kashmir Police.

Those from the Army who have been awarded the Shaurya Chakra for counter-terrorist operations in Jammu and Kashmir are Lt.Col. Krishan Singh Rawat from the elite Special Forces, Major Anil Urs and Havildar Alok Kumar Dubey. Wing Commander Vishak Nair from the Indian Air Force was also awarded the Shaurya Chakra.

The Shaurya Chakra is awarded for ‘gallantry otherwise than in the face of the enemy’. It is the third highest gallantry award in peacetime.

The President also approved Sena Medal (gallantry) to 60 Army personnel, Nao Sena Medal (gallantry) to four from the Navy and five Vayu Sena Medal (gallantry) for the Air Force. The Bar to Sena Medal has been approved for five Army personnel.

The President has also approved 19 Mention-in-Despatches to the Army personnel for their significant contributions in different military operations, which include eight posthumous for ‘Operation Meghdoot’ and ‘Operation Rakshak’.

Operation ‘Meghdoot’ was launched in 1984 to secure control of the heights predominating the Siachen Glacier.

‘Operation Rakshak’ is also an ongoing counter-insurgency operation in Jammu and Kashmir.