Mahinda Rajapaksa takes oath as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka

Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in as the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka for the fourth time in the presence of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Kelaniya Raja Maha Viharaya on Sunday (09) morning amidst a gathering of the Maha Sangha and representatives of the Diplomatic Community among others.

Mahinda Rajapakasa was elected to Parliament in August 2020 with the highest number of votes ever recorded by a single candidate in Sri Lankan parliamentary history, with 527,364 votes.

Mahinda Rajapaksa has a proud political career spanning over 05 decades and held the post of Prime Minister on three previous occassion and was Sri Lanka’s 05th Executive President from 2005 to 2015.