NDA retains power in Bihar; Secures absolute majority by winning 125 seats

The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) retained power in Bihar securing absolute majority in 243 member assembly. NDA got 125 seats, while opposition Grand Alliance got 110 seats. Others got 8 seats.

BJP has bagged 74 seats, while JD(U) won 43 seats. Hindustani Awami Morcha (HAM) and Vikas Sheel Insaan Party (VIP) secured four seats each.

On the other hand, RJD won 75 seats and Congress 19. CPI and CPM got 2 seats each. CPI(ML) has won 12 seats.

Asaduddin Owaisi led AIMIM got 5 seats. LJP, BSP and Independent got one seat each.

JDU candidate Sunil Kumar has won the Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat. He defeated Pravesh Kumar Mishra of Congress.

BJP emerged largest party in NDA, while seats of RJD, Congress and JD(U) decreased in comparison to 2015 assembly elections.

Performance of left parties was excellent.

Left parties got seats under seat sharing agreement in grand alliance. Out of 29 seats left parties got 16 seats.

Out of 23 Ministers 14 won while 09 lost elections.

LJP got one seat but 42 candidates lost election due to presence of LJP candidate.

JD (U) suffered maximum loss of 36 seats while 04 candidates of VIP could not win due to presence of LJP candidate.

BJP and HAM suffered loss of one seat each.

Upendra Kushwaha led RLSP could not open account.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.