Newly-elected Bihar NDA MLAs to meet to elect their leader today

The newly-elected MLAs of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Bihar will meet in Patna today to elect their leader. Nitish Kumar is likely to be elected as the leader of NDA legislature party. The legislators of all four NDA constituents – BJP, JD(U), Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) will also discuss the formation of a new government in the state. Election of Assembly Speaker and other issues will also be discussed at the meeting.

BJP has also convened a meeting of its newly elected MLAs today to elect its leader. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will be an observer at the meeting. Party incharge of Bihar affairs Bhupendra Yadav, election incharge Devendra Fadnavis and Bihar BJP President Sanjay Jaiswal will also be present.

Other NDA constituents Janta Dal (United), Hindustani Awaam Morcha and Vikassheel Insaan Party have also convened meetings of their newly elected MLAs. After the meeting, they will give their letter of support to the Governor.

Later NDA will claim to form a new government in the state. The Chief Minister and his cabinet colleagues are likely to be sworn-in tomorrow.

The NDA secured an absolute majority by winning 125 seats in the recently held assembly elections. One independent MLA Sumit Sigh has also extended his support to the NDA.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.