BJP wins Guwahati Municipal Corporation polls with absolute majority

The BJP has swept the Guwahati Municipal Corporation, GMC polls with the BJP and its ally Asom Gana Parishad winning 58 seats in the 60-member corporation.

While the BJP got 52 seats, Asom Gana Parishad managed to win 6 seats. Asom Jatiya Parishad and AAP got 1 seat each.

The opposition Congress didn’t win any seats. The GMC election was held after 9 years. Prime Minister  Narendra Modi thanked the Guwahatians for the mandate in favour of the BJP to build on the agenda of development.

BJP National President, Union Home Minister, and Assam Chief Minister also thanked the people of Guwahati for their support.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.