Biren Singh govt sails through trust vote in Manipur assembly

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition government headed by chief minister Nongthombam Biren Singh sailed through the trust vote in the Manipur assembly on Monday evening.

In the 53-member assembly, including the Speaker, 28 ruling party MLAs were present in the house while 16 opposition Congress MLAs headed by opposition leader and former chief minister O Ibobi Singh were present in the opposition bench while discussing the day’s confidence motion.

The 60-member Manipur assembly had earlier been reduced to a strength of 53 after four members were disqualified under the anti-defection law and 3 BJP MLAs resigned.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.