Assam Assembly passes bill for the creation of 3 more Autonomous Councils

The Assam Legislative Assembly on Thursday passed three bills to create autonomous councils for the Moran, Motok, and Koch-Rajbongshi communities in the state.

The Moran Autonomous Council Bill, 2020, The Motok Autonomous Council Bill, 2020, and The Kamatapur Autonomous Council Bill, 2020 were tabled on March 24, the last day of the Budget Session this year.

Although the bills related to Moran and Matak were passed without a hitch, the opposition and one member of the BJP raised a fuss over the third bill and demanded that it be changed into the Koch-Rajbongshi Autonomous Council Bill, 2020.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.