Dinesh Kumar Khara appointed new SBI chairman

The government on Tuesday appointed senior banker Dinesh Kumar Khara as chairman of the State Bank Of India replacing Rajnish Kumar, who completed his three-year term.

“The central government appoints Dinesh Kumar Khara as chairman of State Bank of India (SBI) for a period of three years with effect from the date of his taking over charge of the post on or after October 7, 2020 or until further orders, whichever is earlier,” a notification issued by the Finance Ministry said.

Last month, the Banks Board Bureau (BBB) had recommended Khara as the next chairman of SBI. As per convention, the SBI chairman is appointed from a pool of serving managing directors at the bank.