BJP Records Landslide Victory In Arunachal Assembly Elections; Sikkim Krantikari Morcha Makes Clean Sweep In Sikkim.

June 2, 2024 9:53 PM.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has returned to power in Arunachal Pradesh, while the ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) has secured another term in Sikkim. Counting of votes for Assembly elections in the two Norther-Eastern states was held today. Polling for the 60 seats in Arunachal Pradesh and for 32 seats in Sikkim was held on 19th of April, simultaneously with the first phase of Lok Sabha elections. BJP has recorded landslide victory in the Arunachal Pradesh securing 46 seats out of 60.

Some of the prominent winners from BJP are former Union Minister Ninong Ering, party leaders Dr. Mahesh Chai, Tai Nikio, Homchun Ngamdam, Wangling Lowangdong, Tsering Lamu and Chakat Aboh.

In Sikkim, out of the results declared for all 32 seats, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) has won 31 seats. The Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) has managed to bag only one seat. Incumbent State Chief Minister and SKM President Prem Singh Tamang has won from both Rhenock and Soreng Chakung Constituencies. SKM candidate and State Assembly Speaker Arun Kumar Upretti won from Arithang seat. SDF candidate Tenzing Norbu Lamtha registered win over Kunga Nima Lepcha of SKM from Shyari constituency.

The terms of the two assemblies in the north-eastern states ended today.