904 Candidates To Contest Elections From Eight States & UT In Seventh Phase Of Lok Sabha Elections.

May 22, 2024 1:48 PM.

A total of 904 candidates will contest elections from eight states and Union territories in the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections. The Election Commission said that a total of 2 thousand 105 nominations were filed for 57 Parliamentary Constituencies going for polls on June 1.

After the scrutiny of all nominations filed, 954 nominations were found to be valid. Punjab received the highest number of nomination forms with 598 candidates filing nominations from 13 Parliamentary Constituencies. This was followed by Uttar Pradesh with 495 nominations from 13 Parliamentary Constituencies.

In this last phase of elections, Thirteen seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine seats of West Bengal, eight seats of Bihar, six seats of Odisha, four seats of Himachal Pradesh, three seats of Jharkhand and one seat in Union Territory of Chandigarh will go to polls. The counting of votes for all the phases will take place on the 4th of June.