Supreme Court panel holds talks with 17 farmer organisations from 11 states

A Supreme Court-appointed panel held talks with 17 farmer organisations over Centre’s farm laws. Farmer unions from 11 States and Union Territories participated in the deliberations with the 3-member committee yesterday.

The organisations from Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh gave their frank views and detailed suggestions on the farm laws.

The committee comprises agricultural economists Ashok Gulati and Dr Pramod Joshi, and Shethkari Sangathana President Anil Ghanwat.

The apex court had on January 12 set up the committee to give a report to the court on the farm laws following consultations with all stakeholders. The Supreme Court had also stayed the implementation of three farm laws.