In Maharashtra, Deputy CM & Finance Minister Ajit Pawar Tables Economic Survey Report 2023-24 In Legislative Council, Among Other Bills.

June 27, 2024 10:12 PM.

On the first day of the monsoon session of the Maharashtra legislature, Deputy Chief Minister and Finance Minister of the state Ajit Pawar tabled the Economic Survey Report 2023-24 in the Legislative Council. The government also tabled Regional and Town Planning Bill and Maharashtra State Skills University bill.

The State Economic Survey Report stated that the average share of the State in All-India nominal GDP is highest at 13.9 per cent. As per the advance estimates, nominal (at current prices) Gross State Domestic Product (GSDP) for 2023-24 is expected to be 40 lakh 44 thousand 251 crore and real (at constant 2011-12 prices) GSDP is expected to be 24 lakh 10 thousand 898 crore.

Further, the percentage of fiscal deficit to GSDP is 2.8 per cent, revenue deficit to GSDP is 0.5 per cent and debt stock to GSDP is 17.6 per cent as per 2023-24.

Apart from implementation of various schemes and farmer dedicated initiatives including irrigation schemes, the report mentioned that a compensation of more than 17 hundred crore was sanctioned to 22.74 lakh farmers affected by the untimely/heavy rains during January to October, 2023. The report further mentioned that a compensation of more than 2 thousand 443 crores was sanctioned owing to the scarcity situation during Kharif-2023.

Later, bills regarding police reforms, BMC reforms, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Technical University reforms, Maharashtra state cooperative societies second amendment, Maharashtra Municipalities Reforms and Maharashtra Labour Welfare Fund reforms and others which were passed by both the houses of legislature, were announced to have got Governor’s assent.

Eight members of the Assembly, including Sandipan Bhumare, Raju Parwe, Nilesh Lanke, Praniti Shinde, Pratibha Dhanorkar, Balwant Wankhede and Ravindra Waikar who recently got elected to the Lok Sabha resigned from the house and Speaker Rahul Narvekar accepted their resignations.